Penric and Desmona's Latest Adventure

Book Title: 

The Prisoner of Limnos

Book Author: 

Lois McMaster Bujold

My Rating: 

Average: 5 (1 vote)

What can I say about “The Prisoner of Limnos”? It's the sixth novella in the Penric and Desdemona series, and follows right after “Mira's Last Dance”. We follow up on what happened to Penric and Nikys after their arrival in the duchy of Orbas. Penric's superiors want him to come back to their temple. Penric doesn't want to go... at least not yet.

It's hard not to say too much about the plot. This is, after all, a novella. But it's a good story. It's got all the adventure, and daring and even some romance. These pieces of a story are put together with Lois McMaster Bujold's usual skill. I have loved all of her novels, but I think that it is these shorter works that really show off her talent. In the confines of a novella, she still manages to grab the reader's interest, and carry it right up to a very satisfying ending.

If you have enjoyed any of this author's books, you really do need to read all of the Penric and Desdemona novellas.


Penric and Desdemona

Series Sequence: